Teaser Tuesdays: Fever Pitch (Nick Hornby)

A few teasers from the book I’m currently re-reading 🙂

Fever Pitch - Nick Hornby

Fever Pitch – Nick Hornby.

“I fell in love with football as I was later to fall in love with women: suddenly, inexplicably, uncritically, giving no thought to the pain or disruption it would bring with it.

… A few weeks later I watched the Man Utd – Benfica game, enthralled, with my mum, and at the end of August I got up early to hear how United had got on in the final of the World Club Championship. I loved Bobby Charlton and George Best (I knew nothing about Denis Law, the third of the Holy Trinity, who had missed the Benfica match through injury) with a passion that had taken me completely by surprise; it lasted three weeks, until my dad took me to Highbury for the first time.” (Pg. 7)

Leave a Reply

