My year in books (2016)

With a few weeks still to go in 2016 (I’m currently reading The Sportswriter by Richard Ford), a count of 54 books read so far this year isn’t the worst number to end with. After starting the year off in style at the Jaipur Literary Festival (my first experience that you can read all about on my Huffington Post blog), 2016 involved me reading new works from old favourites (Lee Child, Cornelia Funke, Rick Riordan), even as I explored in more detail authors I’d first read over the last two years and loved (Neil Gaiman, Amy Tan, Anita Shreve, Maggie O’Farrell), read others for the first time and in doing so challenged myself to move from my sphere of comfort (Michael Ondaatje, Aleksandar Hemon, Patrick Ness, Carol Shields, Rose Tremain, Junot Diaz, Orhan Pamuk), found time to reread a few for various reasons (Colm Toibin, Stephen King, Louisa May Alcott) and read an assortment of stuff for work. Not to mention the explosion of catastrophic proportions faced by my to-read/recommended list (*deep breath*)

img-20160529-wa0017
Me at the Strand Book Store in the summer of 2016

Here then is a list of some of my top picks out of my 2016 reading (in the order that I read them) –

Fiction

  1. Good Omens – Sir Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman (Mini-review)
  2. A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness (My review on Clear Eyes Full Shelves)
  3. The Trials of Apollo – Rick Riordan (Mini-review)
  4. Anansi Boys – Neil Gaiman
  5. Joy Luck Club – Amy Tan (My review on the blog)
  6. Unless – Carol Shields
  7. Neverwhere – Neil Gaiman
  8. Night School – Lee Child (My review on Huffington Post India)
  9. The English Patient – Michael Ondaatje
  10. The Golden Yarn – Cornelia Funke

Non-fiction

  1. The Naive and the Sentimental Novelist – Orhan Pamuk
  2. On Writing – Stephen King

Sports

  1. I Think Therefore I Play – Andrea Pirlo
  2. Why Soccer Matters – Pele

 

Notable mentions

  1. Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet – Jamie Ford (Mini-review)
  2. Career of Evil – Robert Galbraith (Mini-review)
  3. The Princess Bride – William Goldman (Mini-review)
  4. The Brief but Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao – Junot Diaz (Mini-review)
  5. Nowhere Man – Aleksandar Hemon

 

Can you see any of your favourites in there? What did your year in books look like?

I’ll be posting individual reviews for some of the above before December 31 so keep an eye out.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

